Alive

We are alive, I promise.

Long story as short as possible – we come to the airport, they say ‘You can leave, but then you’ll be banished for 5 years’.

All because my actual magic visa sticker was sitting at the department since December (‘I was told you’ll sms me when the visa is ready’ ‘No, we only sms when you’re unsuccessful’ Erm..how does that make any sense?). Changing tickets, paying more money, going to Russia finally. Fishing, digging out trees and successfully smuggling them in, eating TONS of ice cream, running around Moscow metro for three days while living in a windowless room (windowless, indeed) in 40 degrees C. Hurray we are back, more tired then relaxed (three long flights just to get home do take their toll).

And as it happens, life becomes more important than blogging for a while and there is cleaning the garden for spring and thinking about the limitless possibilities I suddenly have as a proud owner of a visa.

The decision is to cook and sell at Pretoria’s food markets – this Saturday we’re going to Irene market to check out the competition. And of course trying to get my maths matric. Oh yes, this one I didn’t share with you – I can’t be a student and get a National Diploma, because years ago I didn’t do matric in maths. Doesn’t matter that I already have a degree from a proper university, nope, I shall now join the young minds of South Africa and take matric next year. Maths, ew.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

