Cross-Continental Smuggling

As my mom knows exactly what it is to live far away in a foreign country, she went a little overboard and sent me five billion things. Among those were seeds and plants (I know, this isn’t completely legal, but oh well).

Just to paint a clear picture – I asked for one cherry tree and a packet of peas seeds, because I’ve struggled to find these for a while. Well, I did get that, and more – seven packets of peas, two of parsnips and kohlrabi each, strawberries, cucumbers and tomatoes.3004As to live plants, my poor brother’s suitcase was filled with raspberries, blackberries, black currants and random herbs my mom felt I needed for some reason. I am glad my brother wasn’t stopped at customs, otherwise I’d be visiting him in prison every day I guess. Not to mention that the berries were all originally imported to Slovakia from Russia from my grandparents.3004b3004cOh and did I mention the fact that I can start a strawberry plantation? Oh yes, without me asking, the mother’s sense told my mom to send me one billion of them – a mix of Slovak, Russian and Polish berries. Not that Dr Pink Cucumber is complaining.3004dAfter a long long flight from Europe all the plants looked very sad, but as you can see in the pictures, after several days they’ve gotten much better and seem like everybody will survive. Especially the black currant in my pink pot – it arrived as a dry stick and now it has started growing like crazy. Nobody told it that winter is coming here. Oh well.

I am pretty sure I will be able to come up with another project for The Garden Lab with this amount of new seeds and plants. Stay tuned – this week is the week of coming back from holidays and updating, updating, updating.

7 thoughts on “Cross-Continental Smuggling

  1. We all do have special feelings and memory towards to some plants. Most of time we can find them in local nurseries but sometimes we just can’t. Oh well, they are not just gift, they are love, too! 🙂

    • You are absolutely right! Plants for me are a sort of an international legacy – passing on from my grandfather in Russia to my mother in Slovakia to me in South Africa. And hopefully one day to our children, wherever they decide to live 🙂

      • I am from Taiwan and live in Canada for years now. Many plants I have strong feelings they do not stand the cold winter here. 😦

        I am sure you can find lots of plants in common in Russia, Slovakia or in South Africa. Also some beautiful native plants remind you all these countries. 🙂

      • I understand – back when I lived in Europe I dreamed about planting all these beautiful and exotic plants/trees, but due to harsh winters it just wasn’t possible. That’s just the way it is, but luckily there are always local indigenous plants that are there for us to fall in love with!

Leave a Reply

