Autumn Garden in Gauteng

With a rainy day upon us in Centurion, I apologize for not posting. There is a good reason with a so-far-good result – I have officially applied for a Diploma in Horticulture! It is extremely exciting and the thought of my paperwork being done just fills my heart with joy (I know this is temporary though, life is life and paperwork always comes back at you).

Anyways, with autumn in full force, here are some tips you should follow:

1. Harvest the remaining late summer crops and pull the dead plants out.

2. De-weed (hurray!)

3. Prepare your soil for winter – I added a generous layer of gnu poop which has been well composted and of course eggshells and some wood ash – the witches’ brew.

4. Plant your autumn and early winter crops – for highveld areas it’s onions, lettuces, carrots, cabbages, radishes, beetroot, turnips, garlic, chards, celery, broccoli, leek, kohlrabi, radicchio, parsnip and peas.

This is what my little garden looks like in different seasons – first photo was taken on October 25th, 2013 (spring), second on January 29th (summer) and third on March 19th (autumn).1404Besides being busy with the miracle of South African education system I have also expanded my orchid-mania into home pollinating and new methods of potting, repotting and rerepotting. I have also gotten a little magic box of seeds that I ordered from seedsforafrica.co.za – many of them will be a part of The Garden Lab as soon as spring comes. More about all this in my this week’s posts!

This week is a big week for the Pink Cucumbers – my brother is visiting us, so the first thing Friday we’re off to Kruger National Park. I have prepared my little shovel, but apparently it’s not completely legal – oh well, I just wanted a friend for my (legally obtained!) Mr. Ramsbottom – our implala lily. If I don’t get to bring any ‘scalp’ from the park, I will at least take tons of pictures and share them with you!

Leave a Reply

