On the Topic of Hoarding Again

Today I have realized how ashamed I am of the state of our garage and tupperware cupboard in our kitchen – it’s simply way too cluttered. But I relaxed as I read one of Albert Einstein’s quotes today – ‘If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?’ – if Albert says cluttered is ok, then CLUTTERED IS OK.

In the previous post I thanked the milk box companies for making our gardening better, this time it’s cricket. When I came to South Africa for the first time, I had no clue what cricket was and I had no idea how it worked. Now it’s getting better, I even get excited over it (it might be the beer though). So once again, watching cricket at a stadium drinking beer and later watching little kids collecting the plastic cups, I thought to myself what wonderful seedling containers those cups are and I went and stole a few off the snake the little kids were building (I know, very mean).

All you need to do is drill a hole in the bottom, or have a wonderful significant other do it for you, fill it with soil and the omnipresent egg shells and plant your seedling. 2801

To distinguish the seedlings simply write it on the cup with a permanent marker, which can be later easily removed with a nail polish remover. When your seedlings are big enough and ready to be transplanted, the cups are perfect for stacking up and taking all of them in one go to the garden.2801b

So that’s another way to save up on buying seedling trays or pretty pots for your seedlings!

As all gardeners need to wait and wait, we find other things to do – I, in particular, bake. This time it was a traditional Slovak Easter cake – Veľkonočný mazanec (well, I’m not sure it’s Slovak originally, but we eat it in Slovakia during Easter time). It’s fluffy, filled with almonds and raisins and you put jam or honey or butter on it – with a mug of coffee or milk, yum! I am extremely proud of my first try! And don’t ask why I made an Easter cake in January..let’s just say I’ve been wanting to make it for a very long time and somehow last Friday was the day!

2801c

One thought on “On the Topic of Hoarding Again

Leave a Reply

