Esteban, the Mango Prince

This weekend flew by extra fast, making me an advanced diver – hurray! I must report there were no interesting plants worth stealing, unfortunately. I survived with a mild sun burn and very very stiff leg muscles.

The night before we left for the dam, Dr Pink Cucumber, as usual, went to check and observe the garden and its progress. He usually asks me questions, so I answer them, while I’m busy doing something in the kitchen. This time he asks me what did I plant in the three buckets that are standing on my work table. So I answer ‘Mangoes.’ ‘Well, seems like we have a mango tree then!’ he answers, but doesn’t get to finish the sentence before I start screaming and running and laughing all excited to see the miracle of a mango tree life.

I get extremely excited any time my seedlings come out. In this case it was ten billion times more excitement because, I do admit, after waiting for a few months I have given up hope that anything will come out. But it did! After the rest of the day thinking about an appropriate name for our new baby mango (yes, I name things and plants..I did mention that I get emotionally attached!), Dr Cucumber came up with one we both love – Esteban. Our mango prince’s story has started a long before he was a seedling, so I want to share how you can have your own mango royalty at home!

Start with a mango (what an unexpected surprise) that you buy often and like. Cut along its side very carefully, not to penetrate the pit. Cut the pit out.

Esteban, the mango princeI’ve read that some people leave the pit out for a day to dry out, in order to get the seed out more easily. I’ve done that with one of the three seeds that I planted (it might be Esteban, I really don’t know!). Once my hands are dirty and sticky, I don’t mind, and I just continue – gently make a small incision into the pit, big enough to stick your finger in and spread it open – always be careful not to damage the seed. If the seed is tiny, don’t bother planting it, pick nice big seeds that aren’t rotten or damaged. Put the seed in a bucket, keep it moist – not wet!, in a warm area and WAIT. Trust me, it’s so worth it!

esteban the mango princeEsteban is tiny teeny now and his six leaves are slowly opening up and changing color. His siblings are nowhere to be seen yet and I will definitely update you on his and their growth.

It’s all incredibly exciting to me! Luckily, Dr Cucumber supports me, though I am not sure what he’ll think about the pile of apricot pits that I’ve accumulated on our lunch table after my snack today.

2 thoughts on “Esteban, the Mango Prince

Leave a Reply

