Eggcelent Gardening!

I have this theory that, somewhere deep in women’s DNA, we carry a hoarding gene. I mean, come on, how many pair of shoes, handbags, cosmetics or old crap that you don’t need do you hide in your closets? Since I moved a massive distance, I don’t really have that many of those (though Dr Cucumber might oppose), but I am aware of the fact that I have ‘I might use this for something one day’ mind set. Milk boxes, cricket boxes (yes, they come in boxes), plastic bottles, plastic cups we steal from cricket stadiums, wine bottles, containers of all sorts..the list goes on, trust me, you don’t want to know.

Usually my hoarding ideas visit my mind when I realize I do something regularly or when something has lost its original purpose – we buy milk often, what can I use the box for? I’m sure this old bucket can be transformed into something else! Et cetera. My breakfast habits were an inspiration for another one – how can I use eggshells, ideally to make my garden happier. I did my little research and started collecting them and since then all my eggshells live in a Flora box (I just told you I hoard containers of all sorts!) in our fridge (it does cause a certain amount of confusion, especially when in the morning all sleepy you realize you have a bunch of eggshells on you toast instead of butter).

There are basically three ways you can use them:

1. In big chunks, as you peel the eggs, throw them around in your garden if you have snail/slug problem – the little slimies don’t like the sharp edges of the shells. I guess mixing them into the soil around your seedling could stop cutworms from making you cry the next day. Eggshells are also an excellent source of calcium for your compost pile.

Bean

2. Crushed, as a base for your seedling or tomato planting, or as a general calcium boost for your soil. These little crushed pieces slowly dissolve and become a feast for your plants. I did catch myself just the other day thinking that using the mortar and pestle the in-laws gave us for Christmas to crush the eggshells might not be the most respectful thing to do. Ah but oh well, hopefully it’s not a crime in this country (though I’m pretty sure that using it for crushing marigolds for an organic home-made pesticide might be a serious offense).

Bean

3. If you have eggshells that are nicely cracked only on the top, use them as mini pots for your seedlings – fill them with soil and wait till your seed sprouts out, then plant the whole thing in the chosen spot in your garden – a great way to make sure your plants get enough calcium. My coriander babies live happily in their egg bubbles. If you wonder how to make these containers steady, it’s easy – just keep the box you bought them in (yes, I am again encouraging you to hoard).

Egg bubble coriander

Who knew that hoarding might be so beneficial! It’s so nice and easy to justify it by the fact that your garden will eggcel! (The only response to this word I’m getting from Dr Cucumber right now is massive confusion in his eyes, asking himself ‘Who is this crazy person I’m living with?’ Oh well, it doesn’t hurt to be cheesy from time to time.)   Anyways, enjoy your weekend, we’re spending ours diving at a dam that might just offer some plants worth stealing.

Oh and! Esteban is alive! (Don’t worry, you’ll understand with my next post.)

5 thoughts on “Eggcelent Gardening!

Leave a Reply

